Lessons with Leno

May 18, 2011 at 12:06 am Leave a comment

So I was never the type of person that was good at seeing the images emerge from these types of posters. But I am a graduate of a Big Ten school, so one would think that I was accustomed to a world of multi-purpose logos.

Call it serendipity, or maybe it was just my reticular activation system, but last night on the Tonight Show, Jay Leno used the Baskin Robbins logo to show how companies use those symbols to send subtle messages (which led to a bit in which he showed logos such as the Starbucks siren with the words “Highway Robbery” written out in the wavy design).  Even when my husband and I had been at Baskin Robbins earlier that day to celebrate his 31st birthday, my eyes just saw the pink aspects of their logo as being a colorful, funky addition.  When I asked the server how many flavors they had and she told me 28, I gulped.  That did not make for a very meaningful celebration.  She told me throughout the month, it was likely some new ones would rotate in and we would be acquainted with 31.  Now, thanks to Leno opening my eyes to the logo, I feel better about our fun way to mark this milestone.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

1. Oreo Cheesecake 2. Golden Oreo Gold Rush

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2011
M T W T F S S
     
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

